The origin of the "Fort de Goede Hoop" dates back to Jan van Riebeeck. The Dutch merchant who landed in Table Bay in 1652, together with 72 men and 8 women. On instruction by the Dutch-East India Trading Company the pioneers set up a port of call for their ships to stock up on provisions (details in the "History" menu).
Van Riebeeck immediately started to erect a fort, surrounded by earthwalls and trenches. Initially it was made of loam and wood.
Construction of the building in stone was only started in 1666. It took about 30 years to complete. The stone blocks that were used were brought in from Holland. It is the oldest stone building in South Africa. In the early years it was the centre of community life and administration.
Today the Castle of Good Hope is the oldest building in South Africa. It has the shape of a pentagon with five corner bulwarks and an almost 10 metre high wall from massive boulders. The castle now forms the military headquarters for the Cape Province and houses the museum of the William Fehr Collection.
The Castle is open daily from 9am to 4pm. The Key Ceremony takes place on weekdays at 10 am and the Change of Guards at 12 o'clock.
Top: The pentagon-shaped Castle is surrounded by trenches and mighty walls. Left: The inner yard. Right: Change of guards